Please choose your Country of Residence
United Kingdom
Language  
We are finding the best deals in for you.
Our prices are worth the wait.
Car Hire Search Bar

  • NO CANCELLATION OR AMENDMENT FEES

    up to 48h before the pick up
  • NO CREDIT CARD FEES

    Transparency & Best Price Guarantee
  • THE BEST SERVICE FOR 60 YEARS

    Leading car hire suppliers worldwide
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  • Pick-up Location:
    Please start typing a location and then select it from the suggested locations.
  • Pick-up Location:
    Your location could not be found. Please enter a city name or airport code to see available locations.
  • Pick-up Location:
    Please enter a pick-up location.
  • Drop-off Location:
    Please enter a drop-off location.
  • Dates:
    Please set the drop-off time to be after the pick-up time.
  • Travels to Eastern Europe:
    If you are travelling to Eastern European countries, please call us at 0800 358 1229.
  • There are no matching suppliers for this drop off location. Please select a different Pickup or Drop off.
  • Driver's Age:
    Please enter the driver's age.
Auto Europe Car Rental Companies: Hertz, Avis, Dollar, Budget, Enterprise, National, Europcar, Buchbinder, Peugeot
CUSTOMER COMMENTS SOUTH AFRICA
Home > Customer Reviews > South Africa

South Africa: 309 Reviews Available

Average Rating for South Africa:
customer review star rating
263
40
5
1
0

Page 1 of 16

Showing Results 1 to 20

  • Reviewed by: SLUMKO - May 17, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Presently, I am very satisfied with the service Auto Europe provides.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Very professional. Quite friendly without overdoing it. Explained every nuiance about the small rental details well. Well pleased with the reception I have received.
  • Reviewed by: LUCY - May 16, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • We have used auto Europe for many years without any problems.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • We have hired many vehicles through first. There have been a few minor hitches, but always resolved satisfactorily. The senior staff have got to know us and look after us.
  • Reviewed by: KAREL - May 11, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Easy to use the website, lots of information and several important "free" parts to a rental: additional driver; cancellation / amendments up to 48 hours before the start; tel. number to resolve questions etc.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Initially, i. e. at the desk at Johannesburg Int. Airport, fine, quick and efficient However, the person taking the Toyota we rented back said there there were no problems and that he was happy with the car's condition and the fuel tank, sprang an unexpected surprise by charging us over ZAR50 for "top-up" fuel. Yet, I filled 10 or so km from Durban Airport, the gauge showed 'full' so I can't accept that the tank was not full
  • Reviewed by: PAUL - May 3, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • perhaps make it clearer that the hire may be with another company [as you're brokers], and that they will have extra conditions / charges.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • could spend a little more time explaining to the customer exactly what the extra conditions are... we also hired from bidvest [via auto europe], and they were quite happy to take time and explain clearly what their conditions involved.
  • Reviewed by: SHIRLEY - April 30, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Had a problem with the car towards the end of the holiday. A replacement was brought to us - everyone very pleasant and helpful. Many thanks
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • As above
  • Reviewed by: GARETH - April 30, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Excellent rate and service.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Friendly, efficient service. Lovely clean car.
  • Reviewed by: NOKUTHULA SARAH - April 28, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Excellent service I received a reminder about my car rental 2 days before my departure so I wouldn't leave behind necessary documents required when collecting the car
  • About the service from the local car rental company - BIDVEST
  • Friendly and welcoming and I got detailed information on the conditions of my rental
  • Reviewed by: GARRY - April 27, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Issue free service all the way.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Once again, issue free service all the way.
  • Reviewed by: STEVE - April 24, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Hassle free !
  • About the service from the local car rental company - BIDVEST
  • Very quick and efficient, just what you need after a long flight !
  • Reviewed by: GARRY - April 22, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Great to deal with, good value, extremely reliable....my car rental company of choice.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Luggage wouldn't fit in the original car, so changed it immediately. Great service.
  • Reviewed by: KEITH - April 13, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • I regularly use Auto Europe, as over 5 plus years experience I have found the company to be reliable and provide good value for money.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Experience generally was satisfactory, however I was disappointed with the car we collected at Cape Town Airport. The size of the vehicle was ok for our needs, however the engine seemed considerably undersized and the car struggled greatly on any significant hills. The car was not suited to our tour of the Western Cape.
  • Reviewed by: ANGELA - April 4, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Easy to use website. No problems. Would use again and recommend to other people.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Very good experience. No problems when collecting or taking car back. Refund of deposit done very quickly. Great car with low mileage. Would definitely use again and recommend to other people.
  • Reviewed by: JEROME - April 2, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Everything was fine.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - BIDVEST
  • Did not get the car i wanted and they were too busy to help further.
  • Reviewed by: MICHAEL - March 30, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Used Auto Europe before and find the booking etc works well and the price is ok
  • About the service from the local car rental company - BIDVEST
  • Quicker service at airport Cape Town than Hertz or Avis Car was a little scruffy, hole in seat, number of scratches, windscreen washer bottle empty (hope oil was ok). Check in staff were efficient and friendly Would be happy to use them again
  • Reviewed by: JOANNA - March 17, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Can't praise the excellent service at Johannesburg airport enough,First Car was fantastic
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • EXCELLENT SERVICE,KIND AND HELPFUL
  • Reviewed by: CORIENNE - March 16, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • just to make sure what is offered online is given when customer collects rental vehicle. i was gonna be charged extra till I produced the small print.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - BIDVEST
  • to be made aware of what customer is paying for online, and be aware of small print and not customer cannot produce smallprint documentation.
  • Reviewed by: NIGEL - March 14, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Our favourite car rental. Love to have everything pre paid and no add ons, apart from extra driver
  • About the service from the local car rental company - BIDVEST
  • Superb friendly service on collection at Cape Town International airport. Nice car and very clean, often the interior windscreen is found dirty, not with Bidvest
  • Reviewed by: THOMAS - March 12, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Very efficient. Vouchers came through and were easily understood.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • I had to email them to ask for the return of the deposit but maybe I jumped the gun and it would have come anyway if I had been more patient. Other than that they were excellent.
  • Reviewed by: VALERIE - March 4, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Very professional
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Fabulous Service,see my email!
  • Reviewed by: LINDA - March 3, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • easy website and had to speak to agent to clarify local payments and didnt have to wait long to speak to one
  • About the service from the local car rental company - BIDVEST
  • Had a long wait at Bree Street pick up office - over an hour. Each agent seemed to take an awfully long time to process each booking. Drop off at Port Elizabeth airport far simpler. Upon return to UK, Bidvest have tried to make a fuel charge. When I emailed by return saying that we filled up just outside the airport and sent a photo showing the fuel gauge full, they promptly arranged a credit.
Please choose your Country of Residence
close