Please choose your Country of Residence
United Kingdom
Language  
We are finding the best deals in for you.
Our prices are worth the wait.
Car Hire Search Bar

  • NO CANCELLATION OR AMENDMENT FEES

    up to 48h before the pick up
  • NO CREDIT CARD FEES

    Transparency & Best Price Guarantee
  • THE BEST SERVICE FOR 60 YEARS

    Leading car hire suppliers worldwide
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  • Pick-up Location:
    Please start typing a location and then select it from the suggested locations.
  • Pick-up Location:
    Your location could not be found. Please enter a city name or airport code to see available locations.
  • Pick-up Location:
    Please enter a pick-up location.
  • Drop-off Location:
    Please enter a drop-off location.
  • Dates:
    Please set the drop-off time to be after the pick-up time.
  • Travels to Eastern Europe:
    If you are travelling to Eastern European countries, please call us at 0800 358 1229.
  • There are no matching suppliers for this drop off location. Please select a different Pickup or Drop off.
  • Driver's Age:
    Please enter the driver's age.
Auto Europe Car Rental Companies: Hertz, Avis, Dollar, Budget, Enterprise, National, Europcar, Buchbinder, Peugeot
CUSTOMER COMMENTS SOUTH AFRICA
Home > Customer Reviews > South Africa

South Africa: 357 Reviews Available

Average Rating for South Africa:
customer review star rating
306
44
5
1
0

Page 1 of 18

Showing Results 1 to 20

  • Reviewed by: SANDRA - January 14, 2018
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Easy and straightforward to book with Auto Europe.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - BIDVEST
  • I was satisfied with the service received and the car provided, although I was unable to figure out how to use the car radio which I would have liked to use, but not a big deal.
  • Reviewed by: PRISCILLA - January 10, 2018
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Easy
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • I know one of your cheaper ones but car quite shoddy
  • Reviewed by: SUSAN - January 7, 2018
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • I have used Auto Europe on many occasions and have always found the service extremely efficient and helpful.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Very efficient and extremely pleasant and polite staff.
  • Reviewed by: ANDREW - January 4, 2018
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Excellent and easy to use
  • About the service from the local car rental company - BIDVEST
  • Collecting the car was very easy. Returning the car not so. Reluctant to confirm and agree that car was returned full of fuel. Not acceptable. High corruption in SA so important to have this agreed before leaving. Very rude customer service Manager. Will never rent again from this company.
  • Reviewed by: ANDREW - December 30, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Great website and intuitive layout.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - BIDVEST
  • Excellent and seamless service. New car and no ?surprises? in the final billing as is often the case with some companies. Very professional and courteous. Recommended.
  • Reviewed by: RYAN - December 29, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • User friendly site which provides transparency, will continue to use as first destination for booking car hire.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Used many times and overall good quality experience and product although the check-out staff at Johannesburg Airport can be more professional and not try to subtlety ask for a bribe to check the car back-in without any faults!
  • Reviewed by: HEATHER - December 25, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Excellent experience, once again.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - BIDVEST
  • Friendly professional service.
  • Reviewed by: SHIRLEY - December 20, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • I have used Auto Europe several times and always been happy with the service. Thank you.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Few problems extending the days to use the car. But they sorted it out after a few phone calls. So all good.
  • Reviewed by: ANDREW - December 9, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • I have now used Auto Europe for many years for our visits to South Africa, from 3 weeks to 4 months, and have not had any problems and seem to give competitive rates. When i have had to cancel and re-book, again have had no problems.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • I have used First Car in South Africa for the last 5 or 6 trips over 5 years ranging from 3 weeks to 4 months per trip and have not had any problems with them or the cars i have been given.
  • Reviewed by: PETER - December 7, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Smooth booking service as usual. After what happened to me, I would like to be able to specify safety equipment when making a booking.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • When I arrived, Cape Town was getting its first rain after a long period of drought. The locals know this makes roads extremely slippery. As a foreigner, I didn't. Please First, put up a warning sign!! I lost control of my car 20 mins after after picking it up. The accident could so easily have been fatal. The car (a Toyota Etios) had no Electronic Stability Program. Nor did any of the airbags deploy (the car as a write-off so they should have!). Can you please allow folks like me to specify a higher level of safety (eg ECP min) when we book? Cars like the Nissan Go (I had one previously) are lethally unsafe & unacceptable! Very grateful to First for replacing the crashed car after an hour and allowing us to continue our holiday. Thanks!
  • Reviewed by: COLIN - November 29, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Very easy to book, fast confirmation of booking.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Excellent all round, will use again.
  • Reviewed by: NORMAN - November 26, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Great service
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Efficient collection and the same on return
  • Reviewed by: VICTORIA MICHELLE - November 22, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • auto Europe great, so easy to book. First Rental on the other hand, the counter staff could have been more welcoming seeing as how most tourists see this as there first dealings with the country on a whole, I used them before and had no issues at all, this time, the car provided was full of chips and dents which I had to mention before departure, on returning the vehicle, this was an easy process and the staff welcoming.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • see above comments
  • Reviewed by: PATRICK - November 21, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Very efficient.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • I would highly recommend this company for their courtesy, friendly service staff and their efficiency. This is the third occasion on which I have used them and will do so again.
  • Reviewed by: ROBERT - November 19, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Good price for this rental. Hassle-free booking.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - HERTZ
  • We were given a Nissan Qashqai rather than Toyota Rav 4 booked. Yes it is a similar car but I had been looking forward to trying out a Rav 4. The guy who checked our car in and out at Cape Town Airport was excellent - really helpful and friendly - unfortunately I can't remember his name. The car returns aisles at the airport are mayhem with very little room to manoeuvre.
  • Reviewed by: ROBERT - November 19, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Web site easy to use, documentation concise with all required details and immediately received. Ability to cancel a few days prior to start of rental is a very appreciated feature although I have never found it necessary to cancel a rental.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • I have a Member's Card with First which ensures a very efficient procedure at the start of the rental.
  • Reviewed by: EDWARD - November 19, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Good value offered on rentals
  • About the service from the local car rental company - BIDVEST
  • In truth didn't have much dealings with Bidvest except to pick up car. That means everything went well
  • Reviewed by: BEATE - November 18, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • The auto Europe service has always been excellent, hiwevet the service with hertz in Cape Town was poor
  • About the service from the local car rental company - HERTZ
  • In return of the car, which was not the Bw polo I had reserved but some inferior local version I was charged for petrol despite having filled the car up completely 10 km before the airport. When I asked for the petrol level to be checked they refused to do so and told me i would get the invoice e mailed, by the time of receiving it i was back in the uk. It is a marginal amount of 6 pounds or thereabouts, but one leaves with the feeling that this is a routine scam and there is no way for the customer to complain now unless you can follow this up.
  • Reviewed by: KATHARINE - November 17, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Great car-
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • I am waiting for deposit to be paid back-It is a shame they refund on credit card at the airport
  • Reviewed by: CHRISTOPHER - November 16, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Problem free
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Good service and no hassles. We were escorted to the car and shown any defects. Check out at the end was done on the spot and excess deposit was returned promptly. Car suspension was a little bit tired but I soon got used to it. Would use them again.
Please choose your Country of Residence
close