Please choose your Country of Residence
United Kingdom
Language  
We are finding the best deals in for you.
Our prices are worth the wait.
Car Hire Search Bar

  • NO CANCELLATION OR AMENDMENT FEES

    up to 48h before the pick up
  • NO CREDIT CARD FEES

    Transparency & Best Price Guarantee
  • THE BEST SERVICE FOR 60 YEARS

    Leading car hire suppliers worldwide
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  • Pick-up Location:
    Please start typing a location and then select it from the suggested locations.
  • Pick-up Location:
    Your location could not be found. Please enter a city name or airport code to see available locations.
  • Pick-up Location:
    Please enter a pick-up location.
  • Drop-off Location:
    Please enter a drop-off location.
  • Dates:
    Please set the drop-off time to be after the pick-up time.
  • Travels to Eastern Europe:
    If you are travelling to Eastern European countries, please call us at 0800 358 1229.
  • There are no matching suppliers for this drop off location. Please select a different Pickup or Drop off.
  • Driver's Age:
    Please enter the driver's age.
Auto Europe Car Rental Companies: Hertz, Avis, Dollar, Budget, Enterprise, National, Europcar, Buchbinder, Peugeot
CUSTOMER COMMENTS CAPE TOWN

Cape Town, South Africa: 174 Reviews Available

Average Rating for Cape Town:
customer review star rating
150
19
3
1
0

Page 1 of 9

Showing Results 1 to 20

  • Reviewed by: PETER - December 7, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Smooth booking service as usual. After what happened to me, I would like to be able to specify safety equipment when making a booking.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • When I arrived, Cape Town was getting its first rain after a long period of drought. The locals know this makes roads extremely slippery. As a foreigner, I didn't. Please First, put up a warning sign!! I lost control of my car 20 mins after after picking it up. The accident could so easily have been fatal. The car (a Toyota Etios) had no Electronic Stability Program. Nor did any of the airbags deploy (the car as a write-off so they should have!). Can you please allow folks like me to specify a higher level of safety (eg ECP min) when we book? Cars like the Nissan Go (I had one previously) are lethally unsafe & unacceptable! Very grateful to First for replacing the crashed car after an hour and allowing us to continue our holiday. Thanks!
  • Reviewed by: COLIN - November 29, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Very easy to book, fast confirmation of booking.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Excellent all round, will use again.
  • Reviewed by: NORMAN - November 26, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Great service
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Efficient collection and the same on return
  • Reviewed by: ROBERT - November 19, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Good price for this rental. Hassle-free booking.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - HERTZ
  • We were given a Nissan Qashqai rather than Toyota Rav 4 booked. Yes it is a similar car but I had been looking forward to trying out a Rav 4. The guy who checked our car in and out at Cape Town Airport was excellent - really helpful and friendly - unfortunately I can't remember his name. The car returns aisles at the airport are mayhem with very little room to manoeuvre.
  • Reviewed by: EDWARD - November 19, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Good value offered on rentals
  • About the service from the local car rental company - BIDVEST
  • In truth didn't have much dealings with Bidvest except to pick up car. That means everything went well
  • Reviewed by: BEATE - November 18, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • The auto Europe service has always been excellent, hiwevet the service with hertz in Cape Town was poor
  • About the service from the local car rental company - HERTZ
  • In return of the car, which was not the Bw polo I had reserved but some inferior local version I was charged for petrol despite having filled the car up completely 10 km before the airport. When I asked for the petrol level to be checked they refused to do so and told me i would get the invoice e mailed, by the time of receiving it i was back in the uk. It is a marginal amount of 6 pounds or thereabouts, but one leaves with the feeling that this is a routine scam and there is no way for the customer to complain now unless you can follow this up.
  • Reviewed by: KATHARINE - November 17, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Great car-
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • I am waiting for deposit to be paid back-It is a shame they refund on credit card at the airport
  • Reviewed by: CHRISTOPHER - November 16, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Problem free
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Good service and no hassles. We were escorted to the car and shown any defects. Check out at the end was done on the spot and excess deposit was returned promptly. Car suspension was a little bit tired but I soon got used to it. Would use them again.
  • Reviewed by: WILLIAM - November 15, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Very good
  • About the service from the local car rental company - BIDVEST
  • Excellent
  • Reviewed by: ROBERT - November 9, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Simple to use and helpful
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • They were fine. Everything was straightforward and easy.
  • Reviewed by: JUAN - November 9, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • No complains at all. It was a good experience.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - BIDVEST
  • Everything was fine!!
  • Reviewed by: JULIA MARY - November 9, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • The service in the office when collecting the car was excellent, staff were efficient and explained about the holding deposit etc, also did a complete check with me on the car for prior damage, so would rate the service in Cape Town as excellent
  • About the service from the local car rental company - HERTZ
  • It was the Hertz office that we collected the car from in Cape Town, so the comments for Auto Europe actually apply to the staff at Hertz. The only negative thing is that I hated the car they gave me, it was a small Renault, the indicator was on the wrong side so every time I went to indicate the windscreen wipers came on, the gear change was stiff and the car seemed under powered, overall I thought it was a load of French rubbish, put me right off Renault cars.
  • Reviewed by: COLETTE - October 25, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Good as always!
  • About the service from the local car rental company - BIDVEST
  • Friendly staff. No queues!
  • Reviewed by: JOHN BARRY - October 19, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • I've used your website before and find it easy to navigate and good value so I'm likely to use it again.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - HERTZ
  • I had a problem with my bank card but with helpful staff member on hand, we got it sorted. I didn't like the Toyota Corolla they allocated me. It's a car I personally dislike. Perhaps I should have requested a different car at the desk...not to worry... next time. All good.
  • Reviewed by: DION - October 10, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Very good service at hertz
  • About the service from the local car rental company - HERTZ
  • Good service at hertz
  • Reviewed by: KASCHIF - September 22, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Would definitely recommend these guys, was hassle free, no problem at al!
  • About the service from the local car rental company - HERTZ
  • Lovely customer service, they were there to help and even sorted me a very nice car! Even when returning took no time at all!
  • Reviewed by: SLUMKO - August 21, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • I have always been quite satisfied with Auto Europe since I began to use their services some four or five years ago. They have been true to their promised, so far.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • First car were professional, very friendly and as helpful as I could have hoped. Again, since I started using First Car last year, I have been pleasantly surprised with their good services and I have recommended them to friends and family.
  • Reviewed by: ANDREW - August 14, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • First class service.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • The service from First Car was very good. The vehicle perfectly suited our needs throughout the holiday. The only downer was that there was sand in the vehicle after our beach activities. The sand would only have needed brushing out but we were told that we would probably be charged for a full valet. Not good - but lesson learned for next time.
  • Reviewed by: PAMELA - August 2, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Although the Datsun I hired was a bit old-fashioned, it was reliable and served me well No problems
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Reviewed by: STEPHAN - June 2, 2017
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • N/a
Please choose your Country of Residence
close