Please choose your Country of Residence
United Kingdom
Language  
We are finding the best deals in for you.
Our prices are worth the wait.
Car Hire Search Bar

  • NO CANCELLATION OR AMENDMENT FEES

    up to 48h before the pick up
  • NO CREDIT CARD FEES

    Transparency & Best Price Guarantee
  • THE BEST SERVICE FOR 60 YEARS

    Leading car hire suppliers worldwide
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  • Pick-up Location:
    Please start typing a location and then select it from the suggested locations.
  • Pick-up Location:
    Your location could not be found. Please enter a city name or airport code to see available locations.
  • Pick-up Location:
    Please enter a pick-up location.
  • Drop-off Location:
    Please enter a drop-off location.
  • Dates:
    Please set the drop-off time to be after the pick-up time.
  • Travels to Eastern Europe:
    If you are travelling to Eastern European countries, please call us at 0800 358 1229.
  • There are no matching suppliers for this drop off location. Please select a different Pickup or Drop off.
  • Driver's Age:
    Please enter the driver's age.
Auto Europe Car Rental Companies: Hertz, Avis, Dollar, Budget, Enterprise, National, Europcar, Buchbinder, Peugeot
CUSTOMER COMMENTS JOHANNESBURG
Home > Customer Reviews > South Africa > Johannesburg

Johannesburg, South Africa: 78 Reviews Available

Average Rating for Johannesburg:
customer review star rating
68
10
0
0
0

Page 1 of 4

Showing Results 1 to 20

  • Reviewed by: VICTORIA MICHELLE - November 22, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • auto Europe great, so easy to book. First Rental on the other hand, the counter staff could have been more welcoming seeing as how most tourists see this as there first dealings with the country on a whole, I used them before and had no issues at all, this time, the car provided was full of chips and dents which I had to mention before departure, on returning the vehicle, this was an easy process and the staff welcoming.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • see above comments
  • Reviewed by: JAMES - November 5, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Great value .
  • About the service from the local car rental company - HERTZ
  • We arrived in joburg 24 hours early. Hertz gave us a courtesy car and delivered our car to our hotel the next day free of charge ! Amazing !
  • Reviewed by: NGONILE NICO - October 28, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • No issues at all throughout
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Friendly and supportive staff
  • Reviewed by: SHARRON - October 15, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • car in superb condition and could be trusted to take me from a to z in confidence
  • About the service from the local car rental company - HERTZ
  • always the best. Dont become too expensive. First care provided an excellent product too!!
  • Reviewed by: PAUL - October 6, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Excellent price and easy to book.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Friendly, efficient service and good value.
  • Reviewed by: STEPHEN - September 22, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Friendly and courteous staff. Great range of cars and swift service at an impressively competitive price.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - HERTZ
  • Good reliable company that I have used for years through a work contract. Range of cars offered exceeded my expectations. Fast pick-up and drop-off service.
  • Reviewed by: GORDON - September 13, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Very smooth transactions - improved over some previous experiences
  • About the service from the local car rental company - HERTZ
  • Overall very good. However I am always mildly frustrated with the car collection process. This applies to all companies not just Hertz. After flying 12 hours overnight, anything that can be done to optimise this process would be great. E.g. carry over booking details from Auto Europe to their systems so forms are pre-populated, or provide screens and keyboards for customers to complete forms on screen. On this occasion, Hertz rep was very helpful and patient despite needing to call my credit card company, twice, to get an arbitrary block lifted. Well done!
  • Reviewed by: KEITH - September 8, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • fine no problems at all
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • fine no problems
  • Reviewed by: BRIAN - August 30, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Booking was simple and quickly done on line. I was confident of which vehicle I had ordered and that it would be the one I requested. Thank you
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Our paperwork was quickly and efficiently completed and we were sent on our way to collect our car. Staff were expecting us and quickly and politely helped us load our car, check it and offer us valuable advice. On our return again the process was effortless and we were quickly on our way to checking at the airport.
  • Reviewed by: SLUMKO - July 13, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Always do what they promised. Also, helpful when I called from South Africa.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • They were polite, friendly and answered all my queries with relative candour. I would use them again.
  • Reviewed by: ANDREW - July 11, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • I had a query about the fuel charges,but this was rectified with in a couple of days,thanks.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Good service,will use again.
  • Reviewed by: STEPHEN - July 4, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Good service as reasonable price and communication.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • No problems. Car was ready on arrival and performed really well during the 3 months of our rental.
  • Reviewed by: DIANA - June 8, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Always efficient and excellent online service.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • I rented 2 cars, the first of which seemed and handled like an old car covered in chips and scratches but strangely only had 25,453 on the clock. The second car was good. The service on both occasions was excellent.
  • Reviewed by: SLUMKO - May 17, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Presently, I am very satisfied with the service Auto Europe provides.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Very professional. Quite friendly without overdoing it. Explained every nuiance about the small rental details well. Well pleased with the reception I have received.
  • Reviewed by: KAREL - May 11, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Easy to use the website, lots of information and several important "free" parts to a rental: additional driver; cancellation / amendments up to 48 hours before the start; tel. number to resolve questions etc.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Initially, i. e. at the desk at Johannesburg Int. Airport, fine, quick and efficient However, the person taking the Toyota we rented back said there there were no problems and that he was happy with the car's condition and the fuel tank, sprang an unexpected surprise by charging us over ZAR50 for "top-up" fuel. Yet, I filled 10 or so km from Durban Airport, the gauge showed 'full' so I can't accept that the tank was not full
  • Reviewed by: GARETH - April 30, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Excellent rate and service.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Friendly, efficient service. Lovely clean car.
  • Reviewed by: JOANNA - March 17, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Can't praise the excellent service at Johannesburg airport enough,First Car was fantastic
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • EXCELLENT SERVICE,KIND AND HELPFUL
  • Reviewed by: VALERIE - March 4, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Very professional
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Fabulous Service,see my email!
  • Reviewed by: KEITH - February 2, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • I am happy dealing with Auto Europe. I have used them many times with no problems. I enjoy the way in which one is offered the various car hire companies right up front so that you know what you are getting into. They appear to use reptable hire companies.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Car and service levels were good and no problems on car return. Collecting the car was a bit slow as many details had to be provided but on the good side we were seen straight away with no queue.
  • Reviewed by: PEVRILL - December 15, 2016
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • I was disappointed that we couldn't pay the one-way drop-off fee up front. Also, the "windows and tyre" insurance is always an extra which would be easier to decide on up front without the pressure of deciding when picking up the car. Otherwise, great service and easy pick and drop off.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • See above, but otherwise friendly, courteous and helpful.
Please choose your Country of Residence
close