Please choose your Country of Residence
United Kingdom
Language  
We are finding the best deals in for you.
Our prices are worth the wait.
Car Hire Search Bar

  • NO CANCELLATION OR AMENDMENT FEES

    up to 48h before the pick up
  • NO CREDIT CARD FEES

    Transparency & Best Price Guarantee
  • THE BEST SERVICE FOR 60 YEARS

    Leading car hire suppliers worldwide
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  • Pick-up Location:
    Please start typing a location and then select it from the suggested locations.
  • Pick-up Location:
    Your location could not be found. Please enter a city name or airport code to see available locations.
  • Pick-up Location:
    Please enter a pick-up location.
  • Drop-off Location:
    Please enter a drop-off location.
  • Dates:
    Please set the drop-off time to be after the pick-up time.
  • Travels to Eastern Europe:
    If you are travelling to Eastern European countries, please call us at 0800 358 1229.
  • There are no matching suppliers for this drop off location. Please select a different Pickup or Drop off.
  • Driver's Age:
    Please enter the driver's age.
Auto Europe Car Rental Companies: Hertz, Avis, Dollar, Budget, Enterprise, National, Europcar, Buchbinder, Peugeot
CUSTOMER COMMENTS JOHANNESBURG
Home > Customer Reviews > South Africa > Johannesburg

Johannesburg, South Africa: 60 Reviews Available

Average Rating for Johannesburg:
customer review star rating
52
8
0
0
0

Page 1 of 3

Showing Results 1 to 20

  • Reviewed by: KEITH - February 2, 2017
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • I am happy dealing with Auto Europe. I have used them many times with no problems. I enjoy the way in which one is offered the various car hire companies right up front so that you know what you are getting into. They appear to use reptable hire companies.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Car and service levels were good and no problems on car return. Collecting the car was a bit slow as many details had to be provided but on the good side we were seen straight away with no queue.
  • Reviewed by: PEVRILL - December 15, 2016
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • I was disappointed that we couldn't pay the one-way drop-off fee up front. Also, the "windows and tyre" insurance is always an extra which would be easier to decide on up front without the pressure of deciding when picking up the car. Otherwise, great service and easy pick and drop off.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • See above, but otherwise friendly, courteous and helpful.
  • Reviewed by: ROBERT - November 11, 2016
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Very good service
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Smooth pick up at airport,well explained about hiring car and whats not included included in car hire. Drop off just as efficient well done First car staff at O Tambo airport
  • Reviewed by: ENDRE - November 1, 2016
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Reasonable rates, easy booking and simple service. I am more happy with AE than with other car rental companies.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - BIDVEST
  • I really want to see the breakdown of what is invoiced after the return of the vehicle. There is no signing, no pro-forma invoice, no receipt, just a debit-entry on my account from the car rental company. So I am wondering how much fuel, toll fee, cleaning or other service charges did they apply? Why is it so difficult to email a receipt to the client after the transaction?
  • Reviewed by: SCOTT - October 11, 2016
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Excellent cost and insurance cover - will definitely use you again
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Excellent customer service and I got the vehicle I requested.
  • Reviewed by: KEVIN - October 11, 2016
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Via Auto Europe the car was provided by Hertz and as with other cars booked via Auto Europe the transaction proceeded without any issues and proved to be excellent value for money compared to booking direct with the larger car suppliers.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - HERTZ WEND
  • Good service from Hertz as usual. Quick at collection, car in new condition and no issues when returned.
  • Reviewed by: CEDRIC JEAN MARIN - October 4, 2016
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Good prices, very happy with the service
  • About the service from the local car rental company - BIDVEST
  • Professional agency and good service. The car was in good state but not very satisfactory as the engine was very weak (too weak for the size of the car). Apart from that I was very happy with it.
  • Reviewed by: GRAHAM - September 29, 2016
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Easy booking process and very reasonable rates.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Very friendly and professional staff made collection and drop-off an easy and quick process. An upgrade was quickly arranged and one never felt under pressure to add " extras " or felt ripped-off at any stage. Very pleased with all the arrangements made and will definitely use them again.
  • Reviewed by: PHILIP - September 22, 2016
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Efficient as always, and very competetive
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Excellent welcome and a lovely car.
  • Reviewed by: BRUCE - September 10, 2016
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Excellent experience 10 out of 10!
  • About the service from the local car rental company - HERTZ WEND
  • No worries this time good efficient service.
  • Reviewed by: MICHAEL - September 4, 2016
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Very pleased with deal and the hire went off without a hitch.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - HERTZ WEND
  • Very pleased with Johannesburg Desk, helpful young man and vehicle immaculate.
  • Reviewed by: WESLEY - August 19, 2016
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Good service through-out
  • About the service from the local car rental company - HERTZ WEND
  • Unfortunately even after booking a sat nav when making the reservation, there was none available when I arrived. Obviously driving a car in a foreign country without the support of a sat nav is pretty daunting.
  • Reviewed by: SECHABA N - August 18, 2016
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Your customer care is one of the best, you made everything easy for me. Your follow up until the final date was great.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - HERTZ WEND
  • The staff were excellent always helpful.
  • Reviewed by: GRACE - July 16, 2016
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • I have used auto Europe several times and I have no negative comment. On the plus side dealing with auto Europe was hassle free and enabled me to book the correct insurance cover level in advance rather than the car hire company selling me further cover
  • About the service from the local car rental company - HERTZ WEND
  • On my last hire I filled the petrol tank up and drove a few miles to drop the car off. In my final invoice they charged me R20 which is equivalent to ú1 - not even 2 litres of petrol. I thought this was a bit over the top. I have actually paid for them to take the car to the nearest filling station.
  • Reviewed by: JAMES - July 15, 2016
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • I ordered a VW Polo but was given a Ford Figo with excessive fuel consumption. I don't mind a different car but not one with such hight fuel consumption.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Staff very good
  • Reviewed by: RUTENDO - June 8, 2016
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • I loved the fact that the car I hired was excess free and had all the covers included! It made the hire process easy and meant my deposit was not a large amount. Very great service and dependable
  • About the service from the local car rental company - HERTZ WEND
  • I like Hertz. I've used them before and will use them again. Hertz OR Tambo is amazing and I look forward to using them again
  • Reviewed by: JOACHIM - June 3, 2016
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Easy and effective booking!
  • About the service from the local car rental company - BIDVEST
  • Excellent service! Best ever. Straightforward and no hidden charges.
  • Reviewed by: ROY - May 11, 2016
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Very straight foward no hastle. Would appreciate it if you give us figures for deposits not just minimum this plus that.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Great staff, did not spend ages there as the paperwork was ready for me to sign prior to my arrival!! Could do with returning deposit a bit quicker they seem to take their time.
  • Reviewed by: MARIUS - May 11, 2016
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • Hassle free.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - HERTZ WEND
  • Aircon in car did not work properly. It rained all night and I could not use front window demister.
  • Reviewed by: STEPHEN - April 27, 2016
  • About the service from Auto Europe
  • No problems. Rental went smoothly both this side and in South Africa.
  • About the service from the local car rental company - FIRST CAR
  • Very good, car was waiting and reliable throughout the month. Courteous staff and refund of deposit came through within a couple of days following rental period.
Please choose your Country of Residence
close