Auto Europe

  • Contact Our Rental Specialists
    iCommunicator Voice Over IP
    Car Rentals Worldwide
    Car Rentals Worldwide


    F1 - Race 13 - Belgium

    Formula 1 FlagOnce again Red Bull were in pole position for the Belgian Grand Prix at Spa-Francorchamps, this time Mark Webber getting the honours. There were a number of drivers (including Michael Schumacher and Nico Rosberg) way down the grid due to penalties for various previous misdemeanors including gear box and engine changes and dangerous driving.There was drama in lap 1 when Fernando Alonso and Rubens Barichello collided. This signalled the end of the race for Barichello which was a shame as it was his 300th GP. Despite having pole position Webber was overtaken immediately by Lewis Hamilton who was 2nd on the grid.In lap 11 there was more contact this time between the two Mercedes drivers Michael Schumacher and Nico Rosberg but nothing serious. However the collision in lap 16 was a bit worse with Sebastian Vettel ending Jensson Button's race for which Vettel got yet another drive though penalty.
    Vettel's race was to get worse, he got a puncture in lap 26 when Vitantonio Liuizzi's front wing sliced open his left rear tyre. However he managed to stay in the race. Lap 35 saw Hamilton in the gravel when the rain made its 3rd appearance of the afternoon. With several drivers going into the pits there was more drama. Alonso and Vettel touched wheels and Robert Kubica overshot his pit-lane box which cost him second place. Lap 38 saw the end of Alonso's race when he spun his car and hit the barrier bringing the safety car out.Mercedes got their fifth win this season and Lewis Hamilton his third. Hamilton and Webber are now 31 and 28 points respectively in front of Vettel with Button fourth. With just 6 races left it looks like one of these four drivers will win the title. But this is Formula One and nothing is certain until the final race.
    1. Lewis HamiltonMcLaren-Mercedes1:29:04:260
    2. Mark WebberRed Bull-Renault+00:01.571
    3. Robert KubicaRenault+00:03.493
    4. Felipe MassaFerrari+00:08.264
    5. Adrian SutilFroce India-Mercedes+00:09.094
    6. Nico RosbergMercedes GP+00:12.359
    7. Michael SchumacherMercedes GP+00:15.548
    8. Kamui KobayashiBMW Sauber-Ferrari+00:16.678
    9. Vitaly PetroviRenault+00:23.951
    10. Vitantonio LiuzziForce India-Mercedes+00:34.831
    Drivers Championship Table
    1 .Lewis HamiltonMcLaren-Mercedes182
    2. Mark WebberRed Bull-Renault179
    3.Sebastian VettelRed Bull-Renault151
    4. Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes147
    5. Fernando AlonsoFerrari141
    6. Felipe MassaFerrari109
    7. Robert KubicaRenault104
    8. Nico RosbergMercedes GP102
    9. Adrian SutilForce India-Mercedes45
    10. Michael SchumacherMercedes GP44


    Improve Your Experience

    You are using a web browser we don't support. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience and security.

    We recommend using the latest version of Chrome or Firefox